The Dream Act Comes to UCSD

This email was sent out via the AS Listserv earlier this afternoon, unfortunately it did not come to our attention until late tonight. As this event is hosted by SPACES and their affiliate organizations, that means that student fees went to pay for this banquet in support of AB540 aka the California Dream Act.

For older articles by staffers of the California Review about the Dream Act, view Article 1) 2) 3) and 4).

Alec Weisman
Editor-in-Chief

***

Happy Monday, Council!

Just wanted to invite you all to come to the AB540 Scholarship Banquet tonight 5-7pm. It’s in the PC East Forum and there will be food and speakers. Come through and show support for our students, and learn more about how you can help provide an empowering network for undocumented students at UCSD. They’ll also be taking donations to build an AB540 scholarship!

Peace&Love 🙂

Alyssa Peace
Associate Vice President of Diversity Affairs, Associated Students
Student Promoted Access Center for Education and Service, Board of Directors
University of California, San Diego
asdiversity@ucsd.edu

9 comments

  1. dorkface · ·

    this is so awesome =)
    thanks for posting ❤

  2. What a completely unethical and illegal misuse of student fee monies! But how completely unsurprising.

  3. 4liBerty · ·

    So this is the expenditure direction that UCSD is heading into? Sure, programs such as these help UCSD to appeal to a more diverse audience of prospective students, but spending tuition profit from current students is pushing the limits of what an undergraduate student may want to endure.

  4. ugh the mere fact that was have a AVP of diversity affairs just sickens me

  5. Veronica · ·

    Hello,
    Thanks for paying attention to this event. I was one of the organizers and I just want to take the time to say a few words. The purpose of this event was to provide UCSD students with a support network and to bring awareness about immigrant rights to UCSD. To my understanding we never mentioned the DREAM act nor did we support it at our banquet. So why the allusion to the DREAM act?

    Let me remind you all that AB540 (undocumented) students also PAY tuition.

    FYI: Based on UC 2010 documents, there were 572 undocumented undergraduate students within the UC system. 81 of these AB540 students are undergraduate students here at UCSD.

    With that being said let me also remind you all that education is a right not a privilege 🙂

    Peace!

  6. As an AB-540 student, I am dismayed at the lack of support from the public. You can shout all the ugly insults at me. “You are illegal.” “You don’t belong here.” You need to get out.” We’ve heard it all. This is strictly my opinion, so please don’t scrutinize other AB-540 students and sweep us all under one rug.

    I feel as if I belong here as much as you do. I consider myself an American. I go to church. I pay my taxes. I watch the Super Bowl. I celebrate Thanksgiving with a turkey and mashed potatoes. I watch the NBA play-offs, hoping for the buzzer-beater and upsets. I’m just like you. The only difference between you and I is one thing: I’m undocumented, and you have the paperwork to stay here legally.

    I came here at an early age legally, but ended up overstaying my VISA. This is the case for many of us. I had no say at all in this decision, but I am now paying the price. People say, “Money can’t buy happiness.” Damn right it can’t. But you know what money CAN buy? Education. The same education many of you may be receiving via some sort of aid (FAFSA/Cal Grant/scholarship/loan), my family has to pay for, down to the cents. There is no financial aid for me, and the other 80 that attend UCSD.

    Please don’t dare say this is an illegal misuse of students’ money, because we DO pay the tuition. We pay the whole thing– we have to fight to see the ends meet whether it’d be through my mom’s two jobs or my job on top of my 5 classes.

    This event was put on by students to bring about awareness and show support. Please respect that.

    Thank you.

  7. this is so AWWWEEEEESOME!

    thank you for posting!!!!

  8. @Veronica: explain, specifically, what you mean by “education is a right not a privilege.”

  9. “I consider myself an American. I go to church. I pay my taxes. I watch the Super Bowl. I celebrate Thanksgiving with a turkey and mashed potatoes. I watch the NBA play-offs, hoping for the buzzer-beater and upsets. I’m just like you. The only difference between you and I is one thing: I’m undocumented, and you have the paperwork to stay here legally.”

    All of this is true for an out-of-state student from Nevada who moves here to go to UCSD but is forced to pay a higher out of state tuition. Well, except they have ” paperwork to stay here legally” and you don’t. Why should they pay more than you – especially considering people in this country are legally allowed to change state residency at the drop of a hat?

    Also, how would “illegal” be an insult if it’s true? Or for that matter, pointing out that people that are not somewhere legally should “get out”?

Leave a Reply

