Minority Student Apologizes for Hanging the Noose

Because the UCSD Guardian site has gone down, we have posted the text here.

The statement in the Guardian reads:

I have a story that needs to be heard. I am the girl you’ve read about, the one who hung the noose in Geisel Library.

Firstly, I’m writing to apologize. I don’t have an excuse for what I did, and I deeply regret it.

Secondly, I’m writing to hopefully put a little bit of faith back into the UCSD campus by clarifying that it was not an act of racism. This is what happened.

I found a small piece of rope on the ground earlier in the day. While I was hanging out with my friends a bit later, we tried jump- roping with it and making it into a lasso. My friend then took the rope and tied it into a noose. I innocently marveled at his ability to tie a noose, without thinking of any of its connotations or the current racial climate at UCSD. I left soon after with one of my friends for Geisel to study, still carrying the rope. After a bit of studying I picked up the rope to play with, and ended up hanging it by my desk. It was a mindless act and stupid mistake. When I got up to leave, a couple hours later, I simply forgot about it. This was Tuesday night. Three days later, on Friday morning, I found out that the noose had been found and construed as another racist act on campus. I felt so ashamed and embarrassed, and the first thing I did was call the campus police and confess. I was hoping to clarify that this was not an act of racism before the incident got a full reaction from the campus. I gave my statement around 9 a.m. They thanked me for coming forward and for trying to clear up the issue. Later, I received a campuswide e-mail saying that I confessed and had been taken into custody, which simply wasn’t true. One thing that is true is that I have been suspended. I know what I did was offensive — regardless of my intentions — I am just trying to say I’m sorry. As a minority student who sympathizes with the students that have been affected by the recent issues on campus, I am distraught to know that I have unintentionally added to their pain.

We are pleased to see that her (ludicrously weak) attempt to hide behind plausible deniability did not save her from suspension.

8 comments

  1. Does anyone actually believe this incoherent nonsense?

  2. Guess our campus administrators who jumped to the “intent to terrorize” conclusion were right again. So glad they’re in charge.

  3. All I have to say is, why would she turn herself in when no one had a clue who it was and if she had intended to spark fear and more protests? There was nothing to gain from this explanation unless someone had evidence against her and she is making up an alibi. Isn’t anyone the least bit relieved by this “confession?”

  4. Oh yah, this sounds real, Thanks

  5. Uhh Benito,

    I think you posted on the wrong forum. This forum is about the administration overreacting and a person’s questionable story in regard to the noose. This in no way was meant for your healthcare for all idea. Wrong place for that.

    [ed.: his post has been marked as spam and deleted.]

  6. Elvis Pelvis · ·

    The key code word being used now is “Institutional Racism”

    This is a code word calling for racism against whites and asians.

    We should all be complaining and demonstrating against those who use this racist term.

  7. Amazing how they believe a left-leaning, race-pandering institution like UCSD is racist *against* them when all the ethnic targeting done by the institution is aimed at providing them special treatment, entitlements, lowered non-academic admissions criteria, and specialized majors all about them.

    And regardless of how the money is spent, it’s not like those running the institution wanted enormous budget cuts.

  8. Question · ·

    Anyone hear about rumors someone found a KKK mask on campus? That’s the latest RUMOR of the moment… they’re claiming police have confirmed it.

Leave a comment